Site logo

The Team

The project was devised and directed by R.R.R. Smith and Bryan Ward-Perkins. The main part of the research on the statuary was carried out by Julia Lenaghan, and that on the epigraphic and literary evidence by Ulrich Gehn and Carlos Machado (the latter an external collaborator on the project, working at the Universidade Federal de São Paulo). The technical manager, responsible for the computing side, was Jeremy Worth (ICT Manager of Oxford’s School of Archaeology). Silja Spranger, in writing a doctoral thesis on ‘Honorific statuary in the third century AD’, provided essential background to the developments of the fourth century and later.

A number of external collaborators provided entries in the database for the following bodies of material (and are credited on each Discussion page): Johanna Auinger (Österreichisches Archäologisches Institut, Wien) and Alexander Sokolicek (Institute of Fine Arts, New York University) for the statuary and bases at Ephesus; Francesca Bigi and IgnazioTantillo (Università degli Studi di Cassino) for the bases at Gortyna and Lepcis Magna; Amelia Brown (University of Queensland) for the material at Corinth; Gabriel de Bruyn (Université de Caen) for the imperial bases of central and western north Africa; Yuri Marano (Università di Padova) for the last statues and bases in Italy; Christian Witschel (Ruprecht-Karls-Universität, Heidelberg) for the bases in Iberia, Gaul and the upper Danube provinces; Marianne Bergmann (Göttingen and Berlin) for the surviving statuary in porphyry. The work on the epigraphical and literary evidence was co-ordinated, and edited, by Bryan Ward-Perkins.

We were given invaluable and selfless help by a number of other scholars working in this field, who willingly shared with us their expertise and material: in particular Maria Aurenhammer (Österreichisches Archäologisches Institut, Wien), Giuseppe Camodeca (Università di Napoli Federico II), Laura Chioffi (Seconda Università di Napoli), Robert Coates-Stephens (The British School at Rome), Georgios Deligiannakis (Open University of Cyprus), Denis Feissel (Collège de France-CNRS), Roberto Meneghini (Sovraintendenza ai Beni Culturali del Comune di Roma), Silvia Orlandi (Università la Sapienza, Roma), Charlotte Roueché (King’s College London), Erkki Sironen (University of Helsinki), and Heikki Solin (University of Helsinki). We also acknowledge a considerable debt of gratitude to the British School at Rome and the School’s Secretary Maria Pia Malvezzi, and to the Epigraphische Datenbank Heidelberg and Epigraphic Databank Rome, both of which provided much advice and many photographs.